(402) 558-4900 info@millerlathrop.com

In 2016 an estimated 40,000 people died in car crashes. In fact, 2016 was the deadliest year on American roads in nearly a decade. Our roads are becoming more dangerous. Let’s all do our part to follow the rules of the road to make all of us safer.

No matter if you’ve been sliding behind the wheel for a day or many decades, the rules of the road apply to every driver. Many of these rules are the same in all states, though each state has their own set of nuanced road regulations.

Take Heed – Rules of the Road

The rules are in place for a reason. They are designed to keep us all safe and prevent accidents. Staying safe on the roads means following the rules of the road.

  • Yield to pedestrians. In Nebraska, motor vehicles are required to yield to pedestrians in crosswalks or any time not yielding to a pedestrian would result in an accident.
  • Yield to emergency vehicles with their lights or sirens on. Know that in Nebraska, emergency vehicles responding to a call or in pursuit are allowed to disregard many of the rules of the road, including speed limits, red lights, and direction of movement.
  • Wear your seatbelt. The life you save may be your own.
  • Buckle your kid’s car seat harness properly. Remember back seat, rear facing is best.
  • Do not text and drive. Nebraska, along with 45 other states, prohibits texting while driving. Fatal crashes caused by texting are on the rise.
  • Do not tailgate, which is following the car in front of you too closely. It’s rude and unsafe. In inclement weather allow even more distance between your car and the car in front of you.
  • In general, pass slower moving vehicles on their left.
  • Obey speed limits and traffic signals.

Check out the Nebraska Driver’s Manual for more rules of the road! Thanks for following the rules of the road and doing your part to keep us all safe out there.

If you’ve been injured in an accident, contact us to schedule a free consultation.

Follow us on Facebook!


Matthew G. Miller serves clients throughout Eastern Nebraska and parts of Western Iowa including Douglas County, Sarpy County, Lancaster County, and Pottawattamie County, as well as the cities of Omaha, Lincoln, Bellevue, Papillion, Fremont, Blair, Elkhorn, and Council Bluffs.